Take a flying leap…


BLOG 12

If someone tells you to take a flying leap, you can be reasonably certain they’re not wishing you well.  It’s the equivalent of them telling you to go away, take a hike, or take a long walk off a short plank.  It’s not something you ever hope to hear.

But, taking a leap of faith is something altogether different.  It’s not so much a leap away from something as it is a leap towards something.  Something that you can’t quite see but still believe exists.

BLOG 7

In many ways, it’s relatively easy to live a safe life.  Many people do.  Their lives are very predictable, risk is a four letter word, comfort zone is their favorite zip code, and change rarely happens unless every angle has first been considered and accounted for.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like my comfort zone as much as the next person.  I prefer to have all the answers before I make a change.  I like a certain degree of predictability in my life.

But…

I only have one life to live.  I want to live the length and the breadth of it.  And, in order to do that, sometimes it means taking a leap of faith.

BLOG 14

I’m at that place right now.

You’d think I’d be comfortable with taking a leap of faith.  After all, much of the past year has been a huge leap of faith on my part.  But, I don’t think it ever gets easier because we humans are generally inclined to feel most comfortable when both feet are planted solidly on the ground.

Even if the ground is less than solid.

Better the devil you know than the devil you don’t, as the saying goes.  Better to deal with someone or something that you’re familiar with and know well – even if it’s less than ideal – than to take a risk with an unknown person or thing.

BLOG 4

I believe God is in control of my life and its direction, and that He will place solid ground under my feet.  As the song says, “takin’ a giant leap in the air, steppin’ out on nothin’ and findin’ somethin’ there…”

That being said, I don’t take any leap of faith lightly.  I exhaust all other avenues first.  Otherwise my actions would just be reckless.  But, when every road you travel leads you to a precipice, you’re faced with the decision to either take a leap of faith or to continue wandering around aimlessly – and miserably- going nowhere and getting nowhere.

Honestly, I’d rather jump.

BLOG 13

I confess that it scares me a bit but I’m confident that taking a leap of faith is the right thing to do and that it’s the right timing to do it.  I don’t know exactly how or when it will work out but I believe it will.  Where I’m headed is better than where I currently am.  Of that, I’m certain, even without knowing the destination.

BLOG 9

You may be wondering what I’ll do if I take my leap of faith, and it doesn’t turn out as I’d hoped.  If it doesn’t turn out well at all.

I’ve had that happen.

The thing about God being in control is that, while He’s always faithful, He’s rarely predictable.  So, sometimes His answers don’t make sense.  Sometimes it feels like you’ve jumped into quicksand.  That’s because He sees the whole picture while we only see our own little piece of the puzzle.

BLOG 8

I haven’t always liked the answer but, in hindsight, I’ve always been able to see the blessing, even if I’ve never fully understood the reasoning.  And I know that God is always faithful.  Always.  It’s not in His character to be anything less.

I look at it this way.  If I do absolutely nothing, I’ll know the outcome almost absolutely.  But, if I take a leap of faith, I’ll be doing something, even if the outcome is uncertain.  And, I would much rather be doing something than be stuck in a rut.  Usually by the time I’m ready to take a leap of faith, I’ve been in a rut much longer than I’d planned because I spent so much time trying to find any other solution.

A leap of faith may be all that’s standing between what you are now and what you want to be.  It could be that easy… and that hard.  But, it could well be the only way.

BLOG 10

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m about to take a flying leap.  The good kind.  It’s terrifying, and exhilarating, and life changing.

But, consider this… no one has ever been able to change and still remain the same.

So, lace up your sneakers.  You can go first next time.

BLOG 11

16 thoughts on “Take a flying leap…

  1. Change is risky but without it we stay the same and who knows what we will miss? It is exhilirating once you make that decision to do so but so scary too! Better to have tried and failed than never to have tried at all right? (Not that I’m for one minute insuating that you will fail, far from it!). Great post. Take that flying leap Joy and God be with you as you do 🙂

    1. You are so right that it’s better to have tried and failed than to have never tried at all. The only way to find out for certain what’s on the other side of a leap of faith is to take the leap. Thanks so much for your encouraging words! The sky’s the limit!! 🙂

  2. “The thing about God being in control is that, while He’s always faithful, He’s rarely predictable.” Love this – great post Joy!

    Oh – and this too “A leap of faith may be all that’s standing between what you are now and what you want to be.”

    So much good inspiration in this post. Thank you! (lacing my sneakers as we speak!)

    1. It’s hard to leap but I always find it harder to trust God for the landing. I pray your landing is soon, and that it’ll far exceed your wildest dreams! Thanks so much for reading!

  3. Nice. I especially like how you said, “The thing about God being in control is that, while He’s always faithful, He’s rarely predictable. So, sometimes His answers don’t make sense.” Amen to that. Thanks for the follow. I look forward to reading your posts, too.

Leave a Reply

