Playing with fire…


blog6

I have to confess that I’m a little weary with life at the moment.  The job that I thought had so much promise is actually very unsafe and volatile, with sometimes punishing hours, so I’m back to looking for work again.  One of the girls who was hired at the same time, and who had come to the same conclusion, found another job pretty much instantly.  I, on the other hand, have applied for close to 120 jobs over the past four months alone, but the search still continues.

Then there’s financial challenges, relational challenges, and even weather challenges.  The storm that’s supposed to descend on the city later today will mark the beginning of our seventh consecutive month of snow and cold – two aspects of Canadian weather that I struggle with at the best of times.

It doesn’t feel fair.  Well…

blog10

So, it seems to me that I have three choices…

blog2

Well, if you put it that way, the answer is easy.  It’s never an option to give in or give up, so I have to give it my all.  And the truth is…

A bad day is not a bad life.

There have been more than a few times where I’ve had a whole lot of bad days strung together but that still does not equate to a bad life.  I’m thankful for my life and I’m thankful that I’m me.  So, what’s the solution?

blog4

I can either be part of the solution or part of the problem.  The choice is mine and mine alone.

Now granted, I’ve spent a LOT of time trying to find remedies.  You have no idea.  But, just because a remedy is difficult to find doesn’t mean I should just throw the towel in.  After all…

Giving your all doesn’t come with an expiry date.

Plus, something great could be right around the corner.  Granted, it doesn’t feel that way right now but my feelings are not facts.  They’re just my interpretation of the situation, skewed by emotion.  Still not facts.

blog7

I’ve been working with young people lately who feel a sense of entitlement.  Like the world owes them something.  That the rules don’t apply to them because they’ve had a rough life.  They think they don’t have to put out an effort until life gives them what they want, and then they’ll miraculously turn around their behavior, attitudes, and actions.

It doesn’t work like that.

Just think about walking through fire.  If you stop walking in the middle of fire, you’re going to burn up or, at the very least, have a meltdown.  The only possible way to get through fire relatively intact is to keep walking.  You might be singed around the edges or have a burn or two but the chances are you’ll survive.  And, you’ll be that much stronger for having walked through fire and made it to the other side.

blog3

Do I feel any better about things now that I’ve given myself this little pep talk?  Honestly, no.  But, if I keep standing on facts and not on feelings, this too shall pass.  If I keep focusing on remedies and not on the problem, this too shall pass.  If I keep remembering my blessings and how far I’ve come, this too shall pass.

When?

Well, that’s a variable I don’t know and have no control over.  I just need to focus on the things I do have control over.  My attitude and my effort.  Oh yes, and prayer.  Prayer changes things.  At the very least, it changes the one who’s praying.  And I can never get too many tune-ups.

When I find success, I guarantee I’ll feel a whole lot better knowing that I gave it my all than if I look back and realize I wasn’t the kind of person I should have been just because the going got tough.  The truth is…

The journey is just as important as the destination… if not more.

So, I think I’m going to lit a match and see if I can shed a little light on the situation.

It’s time to fight a little fire with fire.

blog

2 thoughts on “Playing with fire…

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! I’m so glad you got some encouragement!! Praying you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

