It’s all about me…


For as far back as I can remember, I’ve wanted to make a difference.  I haven’t always known what that would look like but I’ve always had the aspiration.  But, for a very long time, I think I got the concept all wrong.

1.  I thought that, in order to make a difference, I had to do something on a grand scale.blog 2

2.  I thought that making a difference was something I could only do in the future.

3.  I thought that making a difference depended on how my life was going.

4.  I thought that, in order to make a difference, I had to do something intentional.

Don’t get me wrong…

You can make a difference on a grand scale, or in the future, or by doing something intentional but I’ve come to realize that isn’t where it starts.

It starts with me.

In fact, it’s all about me.

blog 3I can make a difference every single moment of every single day by who I am as a person.  By the things I say, the everyday things I do, and by living the courage of my convictions.  I can make a difference by doing and saying the opposite of what people would expect  when things are going badly or when things are going well.  I can make a difference by living a consistent life.  The Bible calls it living the fruit of the Spirit.  Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

Every single thing that is opposite to human nature.

What I’ve seen is that I’ve made a difference in people’s lives when I’ve only been able to successfully live just a fraction of those things.  Things I thought no one noticed but they did.  Things I had no idea even made a difference until someone told me they had.  It humbles and encourages me, and makes want to be better.

I think the times we touch people most are when we touch their hearts.  And that takes a personal connection.  Maybe that’s why we’re called human beings and not human doers.

My motto?

Be first, and do from my being.

blog 4

2 thoughts on “It’s all about me…

  1. I loved this! A friend and I just were talking about this and she said, “If we expect other people to motivate us by their response to us, we will always be waiting for response and fail to take action.” Great post! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

