Puppy love for people…


I’m staying with a friend while I work a short-term contract in a nearby city.  She has a little dog named Mia.  On a typical work day, I leave the house before anyone else is up.  But, when I return, all it takes is the beep when I lock my car to alert Mia that I’m home.

First the beep.  Then the bark.  I can set my watch by it.

By the time I open the door to the house, Mia is beyond excited.  She spins in circles, barks, and jumps.  She even occasionally has an asthma attack from too much excitement.  There never is any mistaking that she’s happy to see me.

blog 2Mia wants nothing more than for me to spend time with her.  She loves being pet, hugged, kissed, and cuddled.  When I sit in the easy chair, she lays alongside me as close as possible, for as long as possible.  No matter where I am, Mia is interested in what I’m doing.  She wants to be wherever I am, and preferably somehow connected to me.

When I go to my room and close the door, it’s not unusual to see a little nose poke under the door, trolling from one side to the other, with little whimpers in protest of the enforced separation.

That’s not to say Mia can’t be distracted by noise or activity.  Or the possibility of food.  But she quickly returns to her main priority.  Me.

This got me to thinking about spouses.  How many spouses are genuinely happy to see each other at the end of the day?  Or first thing in the morning, for that matter?

What sort of difference would it make in marriages if each spouse was intentional about being happy to see the other?  Happy to be with each other?  To be easily affectionate with each other?  To make it their priority to do things together and spend quality time together?  Or to do nothing at all together?

People often get a dog because of the unconditional love, acceptance, attention, and affection they so readily give.  I’m not saying you shouldn’t get a dog.  I’m just saying you don’t have to get a dog in order to get those things.  People have the same capacity to give them as a dog does.  It just takes time, commitment, and continuous effort.  But, if you think it wouldn’t pay off, give it a try for 30 days and I’m sure you’d be convinced.

Puppy love makes more of a difference than people might think.

blog 3

4 thoughts on “Puppy love for people…

Leave a Reply

