Needing iron…


blog 2When I arrived at work this morning, the Social Committee had taped a large Valentine to everyone’s computer monitor, each containing a message.

Mine said, “You are someone to be admired”.

I’ve only worked there four weeks so I’m pretty sure my message was randomly chosen.  But it was nice nonetheless.

I stopped to consider how nice it would be if that was truly people’s opinion of me.  And then I thought about the people I admire and exactly what it is I admire about them.

Godly, kind, caring, giving, gracious, consistent.  People who stand up for what’s right, who have the courage of their convictions, and who have gone through some pretty tough stuff but came out the other side better, not bitter.  People who I would like to resemble.

I’ve decided there would be a lot of merit in asking the people closest to me if they would give me an honest assessment of myself.  Without it, I know I could easily deceive myself into thinking I’m someone I’m not.

The Bible says that “as iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another” (Proverbs 27:17, NIV).  Just as iron can’t sharpen itself, I can’t sharpen myself.  I need outside, objective, input so I can be the person God intends me to be.

Hopefully someone to be admired.

blog 1

8 thoughts on “Needing iron…

  1. Anyone who loves Snoopy has got to be an off the scale individual!!! That means Loyal, Trustworthy, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Cheerful…….. and most of all Brave to put a request for self-evaluation!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. Always also encouraging to remember what the Lord thinks of us! Your Snoopy comic strip reminded me of that verse in the book of Psalms that says we are “beautifully and wonderfully made.” Or as Snoopy says, “Beautiful.” Great post!

Leave a Reply

