The patience of Joy


I’m trying so very hard to be patient today.  I’m not sure how much I’m succeeding.  Part of the problem is I have way too much time to think lately… and thinking is usually counter-productive to patience.

For a very long time now, I’ve been having to do a whole lot of waiting in my life.  And, to be honest, it’s getting kind of tiring.  So much so that, today, I started to bargain with myself.  If I could only get a permanent, full-time job, I would be so much more patient with everything else in my my life that I’m waiting on.  I just need to be able to stop waiting for even one thing.

Uh-huh.  As if that’s even up to me.

Oh, it does involve effort on my part.  After all, it would be extremely unusual to be offered a job I didn’t even apply for.  But, the facts are that the outcome is up to someone else, not me.  And, so I wait.  Whether I want to or not.  Although, who really does want to wait?

I came across a definition of patience today that was a real reality check…

“Patience is the level of endurance one can take before negativity.”

Wow…  That deserves a moment of silence.  I’m thinking this could partially explain why people refer to the patience of Job and not the patience of Joy.

I have to say that I have a renewed respect for Job.  He lost everything.  His home, his possessions, his children, his wealth, and even his health… and only then did he lose his patience (if you consider patience in the context of that definition).  There’s a reason his story is included in the Bible.  Few, if any, of us are anywhere near as patient as Job, myself included.

But, if Job could be patient through such devastating circumstances, surely I can learn to be patient with the things I’m waiting on.  God is in control, and He’ll work everything out at the right time, in the right way.

He did it for Job, He will do it for me.

blog 1

2 thoughts on “The patience of Joy

  1. I am hearing you! I feel like I’m in a “waiting period” in several categories in my life. My prayer in 2013 is that God would give me the fruit of the spirit JOY. Wouldn’t a cheerful heart help us in times like this? Great blog post!

Leave a Reply

