Get out of the zone…


snoopy 3The past year has shown me how important it is to step outside of my comfort zone and just live life.  Sounds easy enough, eh?  Well, when you do that, you never know what will happen.  What you can count on is that you will almost never expect what will end up happening… when it will happen or how it will happen.

I’ve experienced my share of ‘unexpected’ over the past few months.  Some of it quite frankly not so good.  Some of it good.  And some of it very good.  All of it surprising.

But, if I’d stayed in my comfort zone, I never would have experienced any of it.  If I’d been too worried that something bad would happen, I never would have experienced any of it.  I would have missed out.

And consider this.  Staying in your comfort zone only means that it’s a familiar place.  Not that it’s a productive place.  Or a positive place.  Or an interesting place.  Or a healthy place.

My comfort zone became so uncomfortable that stepping outside of it became the only viable option.  The unknown became far less scary than the known.snoopy 2

Here’s the thing.  Living life involves risk.  Just because some risk doesn’t turn out well doesn’t mean you should hold your cards even closer to your chest.  It just means you should dust yourself off, get back up, and keep living life.  Learn from the bad, embrace the good, and cherish the great.

But, live.

I only have one life to live, and I am determined to live the length and breadth of it for as long as God grants me time.  The good, bad, and the unexpected.

No fear.

Well, ok, I have to confess that I do feel fear more than I would like.  But I’m not going to let fear stop me.  Fear paralyzes, faith mobilizes.  God has brought me this far, and I have faith that He isn’t about to let go of me now.

The bad has increased my faith and changed me in ways that I probably needed to change.  The good and the great have made the trip worth it.

I still don’t have either a permanent job or even a permanent address.  The sum total of my belongings doesn’t come close to filling a 5″ x 5′ storage unit.  The things I expected to happen haven’t (yet…) but other things I never expected to happen have.  I have a lot to be thankful for.

Expect the unexpected… and then expect something else.

There’s no sense in worrying about what may or may not happen because the one certainty is that I’m never going to be able to accurately predict how things will unfold.  And, even if I do, worrying will never have a thing to do with the outcome.  Worry doesn’t change things.  It only feeds fear.

So, no worrying.  Well, less worrying.  More faith.  Less fear.  More living.

Just do it.

Live life.

snoopy 1

2 thoughts on “Get out of the zone…

  1. Well written! There is a saying,”Worrying is like rocking in a rocking chair, it gives you something to do but gets you nowhere!” Still praying for you. Lots of love, Viv

Leave a Reply

