Themes like a good idea to me…


blog 5Have you ever thought about naming a new year?

Me neither… until today, when I read a friend’s blog about naming a new year, which then becomes your theme for the year. That idea intrigued me.

What I’ve decided is that 2013 is going to be the year of “transparency” (not to be confused with “invisibility”).

blog 4

The definition of transparency I like best is “made visible by light shining through from behind”. But, I’m going to ‘joy’ify that definition to say “made visible by light shining through from above“.

I really believe the world needs more transparency. There’s so much secrecy, shame, guilt, regret, anguish, mental torture, despair, and hopelessness in people’s lives. So much darkness. All the more reason to shine a little light their way. Nothing cuts through darkness like light. And light brings hope.

That being said, I’m not talking about reckless transparency. We all know people who are way too transparent. People who have no filter. It’s like transparency for transparency’s sake.

The kind of transparency I’m talking about is prudent transparency. There’s a time and place to be transparent, and it takes wisdom to know when that is. It’s transparency for a purpose. Not a self-serving purpose but an outward-serving purpose.  A purpose that encourages, builds up, gives hope, lets someone know they’re not the only one, lets someone know you’ve been in their shoes and made it to the other side, lets someone know that the grace God has given you is available to everyone, including them.

blog 1It’s not easy being transparent because it makes you vulnerable, and no one likes to be vulnerable.  People like to judge. My response to that is people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones. Or, in Jesus’ words, “let he who is without sin cast the first stone”.

I believe that, if I’m intentional and prudent about how and when I’m transparent, I’ll make a difference in people’s lives. That others will see how God has worked through my negatives to make me stronger, and be encouraged.

Themes like a good idea to me.

2013…

blog 7

4 thoughts on “Themes like a good idea to me…

  1. “If we walk in the light (there’s your transparency) as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another (benefit of transparency #1) and the blood of Jesus cleanses us from all sin (benefit #2)” 1 John 1 something.

    1. There’s no question that verse describes transparency. I try to describe things in ‘layman’s’ terms for everyone who’s not familiar with the Bible. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

