The sun will come out tomorrow…


The last day of 2012… wow!

When I think back to the first day of 2012, and all that’s transpired in the 12 months since, I realize I didn’t have a clue how the year was going to unfold.  I’m glad I didn’t know because, as much as I had to look forward to, there were challenges and hurdles that were best left unforeseen, and tackled in the moment.

In 2012, my beloved dog died suddenly at the age of 7.  I was laid off.  I fled an abusive marriage after 11 years.  I moved three provinces away to start over with basically nothing.  I found a job… then a better job.  Lost that job.  I’ve been unemployed with no income and no fixed address for 60 days and counting.  The past four days, I’ve been stuck on the East Coast due to flight cancellations.  If my flight leaves tonight, I’ll have 3 flights, 13 1/2 hours of travel/layovers, and then 2 hours of driving to look forward to.  I’ll be celebrating New Year’s Even on plane somewhere over the Prairies.  Hopefully they have champagne.

2012.

A year of firsts.  A year of challenges.  But also a year of growth, insight, strength, focus, faith, and hope.

I’ve been stuck in the Maritimes this holiday season because of one storm after another.  My life in 2012 held one storm after the other.  But, storms eventually end.  The sun comes out.  Life moves on.

I don’t know what 2013 will hold but I believe with all my heart that my storms are about to end.  I believe I’m going to get the 6 month contract with the provincial government that I interviewed for two weeks ago.  I believe my unemployment is about to end.  I believe I’m going to be able to stop bouncing around, living with various friends, and have my own little place by February.  I believe I’m going to be able to pay off my debt so I can just live within my means.  I believe I’m going to be able to put down new roots, make new friends, and find a great new church.

I believe.

Will things happen exactly that way?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  But, one thing I’m sure of is that it’s going to work out.  A new year.  A new start.  The storm’s going to end.  The sun’s going to come out.  Life is going to move on.

I’m looking forward to a 2013 filled with sunshine.  Farewell 2012.  The sun will come out tomorrow…

blog

Leave a Reply

