Take the weight off…


I’ve done a whole lot of packing and unpacking in the past week, and it got me to thinking about baggage and luggage and how the first is weighty while the second is simply heavy.  Two very different things.blog 2

I tried to pack as efficiently as possible but my luggage was still pretty heavy.  Thank goodness for pull handles.  But it really didn’t matter one way or another because I was packing for a positive reason… to go visit my son and his fiance for Christmas.

Having luggage generally isn’t a bad thing unless you have too much, in which case it costs you financially if an airport is involved.

My luggage was heavy but it thankfully didn’t cost me a penny.

blog 1On the other hand, baggage is rarely a good thing.  People generally think of it in the context of emotional ‘luggage’.

If you tell someone you have too much luggage, they’ll usually offer to help carry the load.  But, if you tell someone you have too much baggage, they’ll usually run for the hills.  Baggage is weighty.  Weighty for the person who’s carrying it.

Baggage.

  • things that encumber one’s freedom, progress, development, or adaptability.

Encumber.

  • put a heavy load on; burden.

Weighty stuff.

blog 3Here’s the thing.  Live long enough and you’re going to end up with baggage.  It’s inevitable.  It’s what you choose to do with baggage that makes all the difference.  If you don’t deal, feel, and heal, it’s going to cost you emotionally.  And it’s going to cost everyone close to you simply by association.

I’ve been through a lot in my life.  I know what it’s like to have baggage.  I know what it’s like to be stuck with baggage.  And I know what it’s like to get rid of baggage.  I really can’t recommend it enough.

Deal… feel… and heal.blog 4

It’s not easy.  Some baggage is easier to deal with than others but most of it is pretty tough (at least in my own experience…).  It takes honesty, time, commitment, perseverance, determination, and forgiveness.

It’s a journey, not a destination.

But, consider this truth.

No one else can do it for you.

That’s not to say you have to do it alone, you just have to do it yourself.

Lose some baggage and I guarantee you’ll feel a whole lot lighter.  If you make no other life resolution for 2013, resolve to take the weight off and dump that baggage.  You’ll never regret it.

blog

Leave a Reply

