Keep on, keeping on… per severe…


So, I’ve paused my job search to consider what it means to persevere.  Interestingly enough, this has been a huge encouragement to me.

per·sev·ere

Verb:
Continue in a course of action even in the face of difficulty or with little or no indication of success.

First of all, persevering is a verb.  So, when people tell you to “hang in there”, you shouldn’t literally “hang in there”.  That implies staying put, no action, holding on for dear life.  That would be an anti-verb.  If you’re just hanging in there, you’re not persevering.

CONTINUING in a course of action… EVEN in the face of difficulty… OR with little or no indication of success.

Continuing.  That means “keep going”.  Sounds easy enough.

BUT, then add the caveat.  EVEN in the face of difficulty.  OR with little or no indication of success.  It’s like “keep going” but with a burden added to each shoulder.  A heavy burden on each shoulder.  A burden that feels heavier the more you keep going.

I was thinking about the word persevere itself.  Break it into two parts and you have “per” “severe”.  By way of being severe.  Basically, it’s tough whether you consider it in part or in whole.

se·vere

Adjective
  1. Demanding great ability, skill, or resilience: “a severe test of stamina”.

I can’t say for sure if I have great ability or skill but I know I can choose to have great resilience.

re·sil·ience

Noun
  1. The power or ability to return to the original form after being bent, compressed, or stretched; elasticity.
I’m definitely being stretched.  22 days without a job and without income.  Having to move out of my apartment because I don’t have the financial means to maintain a place of my own.  Not a great feeling.  None of it.  But I have two choices.  Either be stretched through this experience or be inflexible.
What doesn’t bend, breaks.  And it’s not an option for me to break.  So I’m determined to be resilient.

To revert to the original definition of resilience,  I have a burden on each shoulder.  I’m in the face of difficulty and, even though I’ve sent out countless resumes, I’ve had little or no indication of success.  It would be soooooo easy to give up.  To throw up my hands and say this is impossible.  To say it’s too hard and quit.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve told my son that the only failure is in not getting up when you’re down.  To give up instead of keep going.

My son is now 34 years old but I’m still his mother.  I know he pays close attention to what happens in my life.  That he still looks up to me as an example.

This situation might be hard.  It might be scary.  It might seem insurmountable sometimes but I AM DETERMINED to make something good out of it.  The answer is out there somewhere.  I just have to keep going.

I’m not going to quit.  I’m going to be an example to my son and to others that, when the going gets tough, the tough get going.  I’m going to be one of the tough ones.  I’ve been through a lot in the past.  I can still go through a lot now.
Many, many years ago, my mother used to tell me I was stubborn.  I’m pretty sure she didn’t mean it as a compliment.  But, stubborn can actually be a good thing.

stub·born

Adjective
  1. Bullheaded.
  2. Characterized by perseverance; persistent.
“Bullheaded”.  Hmmm.  Ok, maybe being stubborn isn’t always a good thing.  But, “characterized by perseverance; persistent”… that’s a very good thing.  In my opinion, it refers to perseverance twice in the same definition because persevering isn’t easy to do.  It’s at least twice as hard as you’d expect.
Hey, that means I qualify!  I’m stubborn!!So, now what?Well, I just keep going.  At some point, the answer is going to present itself.

Consider storms.  Storms can seem like they go on forever but they always come to an end.  So do the storms in our lives.  Some just take longer than others.

  I’m glad I don’t know how long this storm is going to last.  It makes it easier to persevere.

I’ll leave the final quote to Napoleon Bonaparte.  I’m pretty sure he knew what he was talking about.

Here’s to persevering and to eventually sharing the victory.  Until then, I’ll keep on, keeping on.  Per severe.
2 thoughts on “Keep on, keeping on… per severe…

  1. When do you see your son? Is he going out West or are you coming East? We are flying into Calgary on 14th of Dec. Arrive at 10:00 p.m or later. Perhaps the reason you have not found work in Calgary momentarily, it may not be safe for you in Calgary right now. Just a thought but it has crossed my mind several times in the last couple of days! Still praying for you and love you. XOXO

    1. I see Tim from the 23rd to the 28th in F’ton. I cashed in my Avion points in Sept. to book the flight. I’m so glad I had the points to cash in! My safety had crossed my mind once or twice recently but not actively or in the context of why I might not have found work at the moment. Thank you for mentioning it. If it’s crossed your mind several times in the past couple of days, I take that very seriously! I’ll take extra precautions. Thanks so much for your prayers and concern! I’m so looking forward to seeing you while you’re in Calgary!!! Love you! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

