Being thankful…


November 1, 1926.

The day my paternal grandparents were married.

I’ve always been baffled why they chose that day to get married.  The day after Hallowe’en.  The first day of November.  I can honestly say I’ve never heard tell of another couple who got married in the month of November.

I wish I’d asked why when I had the chance but I didn’t so it’ll have to remain one of the great mysteries of (my) life.

But, since we’re on the topic of November, I have to admit it’s one of my least favourite months.  Living in Canada, it’s almost always the first real cold month, without it actually being winter yet, and I’m not a huge fan of cold.  It’s also when Daylight Savings Time reverts to Standard Time, which means it’s pretty much dark all the time.  And all the leaves are off the trees so it’s bleak.  Cold, dark, and bleak.  Bleh.

This particular November has been in the running to be my least favourite month this year, and that’s saying something, given the year I’ve had.  I lost my job on November 1st and now, nearly three weeks later, I still have no job, no income, and no immediate prospects for a job.  And, in ten days days and counting, my lease is up.  No job, no money, no fixed address.

Kind of depressing, eh?

Well, all the more reason to get a little perspective.  First of all, my reasons for not liking November are really rather petty.  On the other hand, my reasons for not liking this particular November are really not so petty.

But, regardless, there is one fact that I don’t ever want to lose sight of…

 

 

 

 

Really? Truly? Seriously?

Even when bad things happen?

Yes, especially when bad things happen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Think of it this way…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or this way…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or this…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that’s a sobering thought.  If that doesn’t make you stop right now and consider everything and everyone you’re thankful for, nothing will.

Really, the best habit we can ever get into is to…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Having an attitude of gratitude.  It doesn’t mean that we ignore our problems or deny our problems or pretend they don’t exist.  It just means we don’t let our problems skew our perspective.

I’m thankful.  I’m thankful I’m Canadian and for the freedoms of living in this country.  I’m thankful for the friend who lives a couple hours away who, this past weekend, offered a place for me to stay even though she’s on permanent disability and really needs a paying room mate.  And thankful for the friends in town who phoned, even as I was typing this part of the blog, to offer me a place to stay in their home (which I’ve gratefully accepted).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And humbled.  Whenever I’m thankful, I’m rightly reminded that life is not just about me.  God has blessed me beyond what I deserve and He will see me through this storm, just as He’s seen me through countless storms before.

Don’t worry about me.  If there’s one thing I’m sure of, it’s this…

4 thoughts on “Being thankful…

  1. Hugs and best wishes to you NOJ, sorry it’s turning out such a difficult month.
    I like to believe that if you emanate love, you will draw what you need to your life. You strike me as someone who will draw what you need, and those friendly offers bear that out 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for your encouragement!! I’m looking forward to sharing the ‘happy ending’ on a future blog post – whenever it comes and however it looks!

Leave a Reply

