A word to the wise…


Thought for the day… Common sense is not common.

Need convincing?

Consider the woman in North Dakota who recently called a radio station to give her opinion that deer crossing signs should be moved so that deer will cross somewhere else.

Or the man in Indiana who submitted a letter to a local newspaper last year suggesting that signs be moved because a lot of deer get hit by cars in that area.  His suggestion was, “If they don’t want to move that sign, maybe they could post another sign, kind of a warning to deer to look both ways before crossing the street.”

Hmmm…

Or what about the Royal Canadian Yacht Club in Toronto, where you can find a nine square-metre patch of grass with a sign reading “No geese allowed” – as if that would be self-explanatory to the geese.

http://ca.news.yahoo.com/blogs/daily-buzz/woman-wants-deer-crossing-signs-moved-deer-cross-133853876.html

I’d like to think I’m a person who demonstrates good common sense.  But, more importantly, I’d like to be a person who demonstrates wisdom.  Common sense is desirable but wisdom is the ultimate.

Wisdom trumps common sense.

The Free Dictionary defines wisdom as being knowledge, judgement, and insight.  But, an even more comprehensive definition can be found in the Bible.

“… the wisdom that comes from Heaven is first of all pure, then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.” – James 3: 17 (NIV)

Wow.  That’s a tall order.

I think I have wisdom that’s come from a lot of difficult life’s experiences and personal failures but I want more.  I want the wisdom that comes from Heaven.

The awesome thing is that it’s available for the asking.  “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” – James 1: 5 (NIV)  So wisdom is not only my hope but my prayer.

If I can be that kind of person, I believe I can make a difference in the world, even if it’s just a difference in my world.  I want the world to be a better place because of me.

My opinion?  The world needs way more wisdom and a lot less information.

Just a word to the wise.

2 thoughts on “A word to the wise…

  1. A wee thought helps me in striving for wisdom.
    We could not survive a week without asking questions, but we could see through a lifetime without giving advice.
    The more wisdom I get, the more I’m disinclined to think I can live someone else’s life better than they – so why would I tell them how to? Better to ask the right questions until they find the answer that is always in them all along.
    That’s the theory anyway – I’m still practising!

  2. That’s a great theory! You’re absolutely right that the best wisdom comes from bringing out the wisdom that’s in other’s all along. My favorite way to “impart” wisdom is to share an example from my life or part of my story. If anyone listening learns anything from what I shared or from the lessons that I learned that they can apply to their life then great but I do agree that there’s no wisdom in simply telling someone else how to live their own life. Wisdom is without presumption. Great comment! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

