From N.O.J. to N.O.P. to NOW…


I have a confession to make.

I’m a closet procrastinator.

That’s not to be confused with chronic procrastinator.  My procrastination is confined to just one area of my life, albeit an important one to me.

For a very long time now, I’ve believed I’m supposed to write my autobiography.  I’ve had a tough life that’s taught me some valuable lessons that I think are worthwhile sharing with others.

So I immediately took action and thought about it for several years.

Ten years ago, I came up with the title, “No Ordinary Joy”.

So, I thought a lot more, wrote a few chapters, got discouraged, deleted the whole thing, scrapped the idea, resurrected the idea, and then wrote quite a few chapters that I’m pretty satisfied with.

Sounds positive, eh?

It would be, except I moved from writing NOJ (No Ordinary Joy) to NOP (No Ordinary Procrastination).

Oh, I’ve been busy.  I’ve just been busy doing everything but working on my book.  And it’s been driving me crazy.

I’ve had my excuses but, in reality, I have no excuse.  Let’s consider the facts.  I started writing my blog on July 2nd.  In just under 4 months, I’ve written 26 blogs.  It’s not going to take anywhere near 26 chapters to finish my book.  I could have been done already!!

So, what’s my problem???

It’s ‘curtain’ number 2.

If I don’t finish, I can’t fail.

I’ve written lots of things over the years but I’ve never been invested in anything even remotely as much as my book.  And it scares me to death.  Once my book is published, it’s permanent.  The end is in sight and it paralyzed me.  I don’t want to fail.  But, it’s a double edged sword.  If I don’t finish my book, I will fail.

The only real failure is in not finishing.

I am not a quitter!  A practiced procrastinator perhaps, but not a quitter.

I’ve considered the best way to change this, and I’ve decided to start by confessing in this blog.

After all, I can’t change what I don’t acknowledge.  No one can.

No more excuses.

I was phoned by a publisher this week, and he made a suggestion that I think has real merit.  He suggested I lower my expectations and just write.  Not when I want to, not when I feel like it, not when I feel inspired but just write something, anything every single day for at least five minutes.

Everyone has five spare minutes in a day.

Some days, five minutes will feel like an eternity and other days it’ll feel like five seconds.  Some days I’ll struggle with what to write, and other days I’ll get carried away and write endlessly.  But, step by step, word by word, chapter by chapter, day by day, I’m going to get that much closer to finishing.

And, if I finish, I haven’t failed.

That doesn’t mean everyone will like my book.  In fact, if I’ve been true to myself, I can guarantee not everyone will like it.  Critics are everywhere.  But, if my book makes a difference in even one life, it’s going to be worth it.  And, truth be told, it will have already made a difference in one life… mine.  It’s already been worth it.  So, I’ve got nothing to lose.

From N.O.J. to N.O.P. to NOW starts now!

Leave a Reply

