My two cents on feeling like a million bucks…


Have you ever felt like you don’t measure up?  That your worth depends on what other people tell you?   That no matter what you do, it will never be enough?  That the mistakes from your past will forever hold back your future?

What if I told you that your worth doesn’t depend on what you do, or on what other people say, but solely on what God says?  And what if I told you that this is what God says about you?  Yes, you!

Do you believe it?  Can you believe it?  Will you believe it?

Most of my life, someone close to me has communicated through their words and actions that I don’t measure up, that I don’t have the same worth as other people (usually them…), that nothing I do will ever be enough, and that the mistakes from my past will forever hold back my future.

Guess what?  They were wrong.  Every single one of them.  My true worth depends on how God sees me, and He loves me for who I am. 

I recently realized that I don’t like myself very much.  I also decided it’s time I changed that.  I’m making a conscious effort to see myself as God sees me.  Every day, I’m trying to celebrate how God made me, and to be intentional about using my gifts and talents in ways that interest me, and that have the potential to make a difference in people’s lives.  My focus is on what I can do and not on what I can’t.

Weaknesses and faults?  I definitely have them.  But, I’m striving to be more realistic both about what they are and what they aren’t, and then surrender them daily to God, who promises that His power is made perfect in weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9).

In short, I’m finally starting to realize that I’m…

So are you.

If someone is telling you otherwise, it’s not healthy to let them keep doing it for even one more minute.  And trying to convince them of your real worth might seem worthwhile but the truth is that it never works.  Trust me, I know.  If someone doesn’t recognize your true worth up front, nothing you say is ever going to convince them, no matter how many years you tell them.

I’m working on surrounding myself with people who build me up and encourage me but who care enough about me to speak the truth in love.  I’m also setting healthy boundaries so that the people who bring me down won’t have the power to do so anymore.  The result?  Freedom.  I’m free to be me.  And truthfully, I wouldn’t want to be anyone else.  I feel like a million bucks!  You can too…

Leave a Reply

