Just to ‘egg’ you on…


I’ve probably had way too much time to think lately since it occurred to me that eggs and people have a lot more in common than one might think.

To start with the basics, there are small, medium, large, and extra large eggs.  Some eggs are white and some are brown, and there are good eggs and bad eggs.  The occasional egg is cracked, while others are rejected for no other reason than the way they look, even though you’d find they’re a perfectly good egg if you’d take the time to look past their shell.

Then there’s the cooked egg.  Most people prefer their eggs to be served over easy (or sunnyside down).  A few prefer them to be cooked all the way through (or well done).  A lot of people don’t see the sunny side of life on a regular basis but they still have the ability to if you cut through their exterior, while others are so hardened that cutting through their exterior won’t make any noticeable difference.

If people don’t eat their eggs over easy, they more often than not choose to eat them scrambled.  That makes sense, seeing that’s how a lot of people’s lives can be described.

There are also eggs that are served sunnyside up, and I find it interesting that there are as few people who see the sunny side of life regularly as there are those who order their eggs sunnyside up.  I guess all that sunshine can be a little hard to take.

Of course, you can’t forget that some people don’t like eggs at all.  They would be just as happy if they never had to encounter another egg.  They tend to be anti-social.

All things considered, it seems to me that sunnyside up eggs have gotten a bad rap.  I have to admit that I’ve avoided them as much as the next person.  But, this little exercise, as trivial as it seems, has turned into a great reminder that I need to yolk it up a little more often.  If that makes me ‘egg’centric, so be it. 

6 thoughts on “Just to ‘egg’ you on…

  1. Eggs-actly!!! I found this post to be very refreshing & a MOST enjoyable read!! Keep eggstending yerself! (See what you started!!) :-D)))

  2. Just one of my faves! I’m enjoying reading your blog very much but “eggs-pecially this one!
    And on Monday….please hear me singing HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you, HAPPY BIRTHDAY dear noordinaryjoy61, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to YOU!

    1. Thank you, Lyne!!! The “egg” blog is one of my faves too. I feel like I’m a bit of an “eggs”pert. And thank you for the Happy Birthday song :). Very un”eggs”pected but “eggs”actly what the doctor ordered!!!

Leave a Reply

