Choosing to roll with the punches…


I love to laugh.  In my opinion, the funniest comedy is situational humour.  As far as I’m concerned, there’s nothing funnier than everyday life.  And there’s nothing better than having a good laugh, even and especially when I haven’t had the best of days.

Today was a typical Monday.  I couldn’t get to sleep last night and, when I did, I was woken at the crack of dawn when the guy who lives in the apartment overhead dropped something heavy onto the floor.  Then, when I arrived at work, the code to the secondary entrance showed it was working but the door wouldn’t budge.  Ever.  And, when I got to the office I was working in today, I couldn’t log onto my computer.  Everyone else’s computer was working but mine.

After work, I had to find a government office in an area of the city that I’m not familiar with.  I found the building way faster than I expected, only to discover that the office I was looking for had changed locations 3 1/2 years ago!  I was given a list of four current office locations but things went from bad to worse when I became disoriented and headed due south instead of due north.  I eventually realized my mistake, and switched direction, only to somehow overshoot my exit by a country mile.  The result was that I ended up on a wild goose chase for well over 2 hours – all through rush hour traffic – and I never did find even one of the four offices.

The best part?  When one thing after another was going wrong, I chose to just roll with the punches, and stayed calm, cool, and collected.  I don’t always handle days like this the way that I should but I am proud of how I handled things today.  All I had to do was stay standing and, when the dust finally settled, I was still standing.  It was a good feeling.

I’m learning that I can’t change what happens to me but I can decide how I’m going to react to it.  I can’t choose the first but I can totally choose the second.  And it’s easier to potentially laugh at some of the things that go wrong if I don’t needlessly stress myself out about them in the first place.  Nobody ever changed anything by worrying, and I’d be deluding myself if I thought I would be the first.

So, what’s the perfect end to an imperfect day?  I love Peanuts, and so who better to give me a great laugh about a situation we can all identify with.  Happy Monday everyone.  I hope you have a terrific Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

