I get by with a little help from my friends…


Over the past three weeks, my life has changed dramatically.  On June 15th, I left an 11 year abusive marriage by packing my small car with clothes and and a few personal possessions,  and driving 2720 km across three provinces to move to a city where I didn’t have a place to live… or a job… or even family.

Some truly remarkable things have happened since then.  On my first day here, I was phoned for an interview for a job I’d been hoping to get, and was hired for the position just one week later.  I also found a furnished place to live in a bachelor apartment central to the city (and in my price range!), that was available for July 1st, when the vacancy rate was less than 1% .  And I found a good family doctor in a city well known for it’s lack of regular medical providers.

But, challenges have also happened along the way.  I got into a car accident on my second day here.  My first accident in 14 years.  I don’t move to full-time hours at work until September so the bills keep piling up.  Not to mention that the cost of changing everything from one province to another is surprisingly expensive.  There’s also the complicated fallout of dealing with the end of an 11 year marriage, plus all the glitches that keep popping up, necessitating that I troubleshoot a seemingly never ending list of problems.

So, what makes all the difference?  I can attest to the fact that it’s friends.  My son (who’s grown) is one of my closest friends.  He challenges me, prays for me, supports and encourages me, and is there for me no matter what.  He’s a wonderful son and friend.  I have other friends who have been quick to ask what they can do to help or to ask how they can pray for me.  Some friends have stepped up to the plate that I never expected while others that I did expect have been conspicuously absent.

But, I have one friend who goes way above and beyond to support, encourage, challenge, inspire, and just be there for me.  Her level of commitment to our friendship never fails to blow me away.  Not a day goes by where she doesn’t send me several texts, or inspiring quotes by e-mail and Facebook, to boost my spirits and build me up.  She’s like my own personal cheerleader, and I don’t what I would do without her.  She’s shown me amazing friendship in action, and I’m so blessed and thankful to have her in my life.

Life is always going to happen… whether we like it or not.  That’s what makes true friendship all the more important.  You may think you know who your friends are.  But have the bottom drop out of your world, and I guarantee you’ll find out who your true friends are.

Leave a Reply

